Honda Twins banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 1972 CB450K5 and I'm in the process of rebuilding the engine. I've never done this before on any engine, and please understand the only knowledge I have is from reading forums here and watching videos I find on YouTube.

A machine shop bored the cylinders to 0.25 over, replaced the intake valves and did a valve job. The machinist installed the valve assemblies into the head (valves, new seals, torsion bars, etc.)

I gathered up all of the information I could find in these forums regarding how to install the cam followers, cam shafts, timing chain, etc. and believe I've done an excellent job getting things in there (famous last words haha). I used a brand new DID 219T chain with an OEM Honda master link, and the marks on the cams line up PERFECTLY.

As per all of the instructions I could find, the valves are opening at the correct time as I turn the crank by hand, and there don't seem to be any "collisions" happening.

My issue? A "Honda 450 Cam Timing" guide that I believe was written by Bill Lane says at the end, "If everything is ok, you'll hear the familiar 'whoosh' of compression as the pistons reach the top of compression stroke - first at TDC left, then 180 degrees later at TDC right."

I'm not getting the whoosh at all. If I put my finger over the spark plug holes, I'm not feeling the pressure or suction either.

The engine is still on a wooden stand and there's no oil in it -- just assembly lube. The oil pump is not yet re-installed either. It's somewhat dry inside. Valve tappet covers are off, and I have not yet installed the cam chain tensioner or adjusted the tappets (they're still at the 4:00 / 8:00 positions from cam install).