Honda Twins banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
132 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm in process of restoring/modifying 1980 CM400t. I'm a newbie to engine mechanics and I'm using project as a learning experience so taking it slow, trying to absorb as much as possible from shop manual, online forms, books, knowledgeable friends, etc.

I'm stump by one component which i can't identify. I think it might be the neutral switch, it sits on top right side of crankcase behind cylinders (item circled in red on schematic). If it is neutral switch and I plan to replace original instrument cluster with just tach and speedo, do I need neutral switch?

Same question goes for oil pressure switch, do I need to wire if I'm eliminating oil pressure warning light?

Screen Shot 2018-03-08 at 3.20.32 PM.jpg

·
Registered
460 Posts
You are correct about the neutral switch. Beyond lighting the dummy light it also allows you to start the bike in neutral while preventing you from starting it while in gear. I would recommend leaving the wiring for this intact even if you won't be using the light, but you can cut it out without affecting anything else. As for the oil pressure sensor you can remove all associated wiring no problem.

Do you have the factory service manual?

·
Registered
132 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
You are correct about the neutral switch. Beyond lighting the dummy light it also allows you to start the bike in neutral while preventing you from starting it while in gear. I would recommend leaving the wiring for this intact even if you won't be using the light, but you can cut it out without affecting anything else. As for the oil pressure sensor you can remove all associated wiring no problem.

Do you have the factory service manual?
Thanks much for response. and yes, I do have original shop manual, a 300 page pdf .

·
Premium Member
24,208 Posts