Honda Twins banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
116 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have 72 cb350, with vm30's on it. I have been chasing carb settings for 2 years and have worked through pilots, needles, clip settings, needle jets, and slides to go from rich to lean at every throttle setting up to 1/2. Through it all, whether rich or lean, there's always been a little irregular stutter when cruising. (Throttle around 1/8-1/4, maybe around 5K rpm) I always assumed it was a lean condition, and would monkey with it until the plugs came back black. But even when set super rich, the stutter was still there.

In my searches, came across a thread yesterday that said half of the carb problems out there were probably timing/advancer problems. Considering I've tried almost everything with the carbs, I'm willing to give the electrical side a shot.

With the timing strobe, both sides are dead on at idle. Left side points are at 0.014. When I rev, (to about 3500/4000) the left side goes to the second advance mark, but the right side goes about 1/4 inch further than the second mark. (does that count as advanced or retarded?)

Is this possibly the cause of my stutter? Can I fix it from the points plate, or do I need to adjust the springs on the advancer?

Thanks,
John

·
Registered
116 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·

·
Registered
3,114 Posts
Neither place, the #13 washer goes under the head of the bolt to hold the advancer assy. on the shaft. #11 is the whole advancer assembly, putting a washer behind it will keep it from being located in the right spot by the pin in the shaft. Take a hold of the points cam and try to push/pull it in and out, that movement you find there is what needs to be shimmed out . The shim washer to adjust that goes behind that points cam.

·
Registered
116 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·