Honda Twins banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,638 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all

I am noticing that I have some fuel/oil on my points "line" which keeps coming back after I start the bike. This tends to accumulate on the line, the spark plug area, and 2 of the cooling fins on which the points "line" lies. I took off the points cover and noticed that it had some fuel/oil in it as well. I noticed that one of the 2 rubber plugs was missing (see picture) which is a part of the camshaft system. Is this the source of the leak?

·
Registered
3,926 Posts
Are you sure it's not the #36 oil seal?

That being said, I have NO KNOWLEDGE of 350/360 twins.. :roll:

My only suggestion would be clean the area really good, run it for a few minutes with a couple revs, then open it up and have a peek..

Anyone else have any idea??

GB :mrgreen:

·
Sensei
27,168 Posts
FIRST, There should be NO fuel in either the oil or in that cover.... There are two ways the fuel can get into the oil....1, the petcock is left on, it overfill the carb and drains in.... 2 bad rings....... SMELL your dipstick, if it smells of fuel, DRAIN the oil, flush, and replace with fresh oil....DO NOT RUN ENGINE!!!!!....
If it is just oil, you have a bad seal, bad rings (excessive crankcase pressure) or a plugged vent or vent line(excessive CC pressure again)..... FIND the CAUSE and fix before going any further..... Steve

·
Premium Member
1,638 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
66Sprint said:
FIRST, There should be NO fuel in either the oil or in that cover.... There are two ways the fuel can get into the oil....1, the petcock is left on, it overfill the carb and drains in.... 2 bad rings....... SMELL your dipstick, if it smells of fuel, DRAIN the oil, flush, and replace with fresh oil....DO NOT RUN ENGINE!!!!!....