Honda Twins banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I'm looking for some fixing the paint work on the fuel tank.
Does someone know what is the color code for Honda red, Candy Red? in 1972?

Cheers Reima

Attachments

·
Registered
1,097 Posts
I tried a couple of custom paint shops, ordered 'candy ruby red' from one and it never arrived :(

Tried a touch up pot... rubbish.

I ended up picking a close metallic standard colour and painted all my parts other than the tank.
I suspect like you, I'm reluctant to paint over my quite good 40yr old paint, but I may have to take the plunge this fall.

CD175 cafe racer - my first 4 stroke!

https://r.tapatalk.com/shareLink?sh...et/forums/showthread.php?t=41695&share_type=t

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
1,364 Posts
I've been disecting the 72 candy bachaus olive for a couple of months (been busy)....
It appears as though Honda went a LITTLE candy crazy during the early 70s. I'm not even sure if the (Do-Do) brown is a single stage... needless to say, if you want to get close, your gonna have to do a little "detective" work. FIRST, if this is a candy paint, bad news, touch up is out of the question.. 1, the paint is almost non existent, 2, unless it has been out of the UV RAYS... it's lost pigment and is partially faded... you may be able to match the color, but the oxidation pigment percentage..no.
I made plenty inquiries, it is a small niche market... yes some people do "match" the colors, they keep these secrets very close to the vest... it their livelihood, and I'm sure it has taken a lot of work to discover these formulas..
Yes, they will do it for you .. but it will also cost a pretty penny..
Get some 1500 wet sandpaper.. lightly sand some of the top "candy" red.. spread it on a piece of white paper let it dry.. you now have a slight/close sample of the top coat "candy"...you can either look at a chip book, or have it matched...