Honda Twins banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Here’s the video of the damn wretched noise

Hey guys!

I’m new to this amazing community. I have a 1972 CB350 (K4) Twin that I recently acquired. She runs great, but she has a couple of issues that i’m not sure how to diagnose. She starts up fine warm, but does have some starting issues when cold (of course). I have also noticed a weird high pitched grinding noise that occurs at certain times. 1) When sputtering out during a difficult start, 2) On the occasional stall, 3) Sometimes at the end of the ride when I park her.
I am doing a modern restoration, so the cylinders have been sent out to get rebored. I noticed the cam chain roller was in rough shape so i’ve ordered a new set.
If anyone much more skilled can help out diagnosing this issue, I would greatly appreciate it.

Thanks!

·
Registered
3,059 Posts
Check out the over-running clutch in the electric start sprocket, behind the alternator rotor.

Reactions: Alan F.

·
Registered
1971 SL350 K1
219 Posts
It sounds like something in the electric start engagement. Not sure what engages those because I haven't used one in a few decades. I do remember from way back then when starting cold I usually used the kick starter to reduce wear and tear on the starter. If all is working well it doesn't take much effort. Once warmed up just a bump on the starter button and it's going. Probably not much help with the diagnosis but maybe helpful when you get it working correctly.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Check out the over-running clutch in the electric start sprocket, behind the alternator rotor.
hey mike,