Honda Twins banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello. I´m new to this forum and I´m having problems with my CM450 (bobber) from 82 on which I have opened up pipes and cone air filters- no rejetting.. didn't seem necessary coz it was running good then. Anyway, I am also new to everything thats going on inside an engine but I have successfully(I think) put on new clutch plates and springs because I couldn't change from 1st to 2nd gear- When it was driven in 1st gear for a while and gotten warm it was a little better but not great- I could get it carefully into 2nd gear sometimes and then quickly into 3rd..(before it jumped back into neutral) and the rest of the gears worked fine. So now, that I have changed the clutch the problem is exactly the same(money well spent :mad:) I´m guessing that the clutch is not the problem because the issue is the same(?). So I guess my question is- Would there be some CM/CB 450 experts who could give me some ideas what to look at next? Is it the transmission? Compression? Is it wrong oil? I´m using this - Motorolie til Harley SAE 50 5 l Kroon - Motorolie - thansen.dk. Its says its a mineral motor oil for oldies.. I have been soaking the clutch plates for about 15 min. before installing, maybe its not enough? I have adjusted the cable back and forth with no success.
Hope someone can help. Thanx
Klavs

·
Super Moderator
24,208 Posts
Welcome aboard Klavs
From your description I'm going to say the 1-2 shift fork is probably bent and there may be some damage to the gears, 1st and 2nd.
The oil you are using appears to be 50W oil which is too heavy an oil. 10-40W is used for most riding conditions, 20-50W for high riding temperatures, 90 degrees plus F, not C. Conventional oil is best to use, not synthetic or a syn-blend. But the oil is not the problem.
Do you have the FSM, factory service manual?

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #3