Honda Twins banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I took off my fuel petcock because one of the fuel lines was leaking and I wanted to make sure everything was alright inside. Well it's not, but since I've never done this before I don't know what to make of what I found....

First, there are pieces of what I think is rubber kind of stuffed down near the base of the fuel and reserve tube. It seems like rubber when it's wet but when it dries it disintegrates like old paper, but I think it's rubber. Is this supposed to be there? Is it to stop leaking from the base of the tubes? I wanted to ask before I started taking anything apart.

Second, the non-reserve tube is clogged, with something that could very easily be that 'rubber' stuff. If anyone reading this has seen some of my other posts this explains why the bike was having trouble running when it got low on gas. The other thing about this tube is that it's made out of rubber and not brass like the other one. It feels corroded and I want to replace it, so what do I replace it with? EDIT: ok upon closer inspection the non-reserve line is made of metal mesh, this would make sense as it acts as filter I'm guessing. So now the question is it supposed to be capped at the top like that, might also make sense.

Third, somewhat a different issue but at the top of the photo behind the top fuel tube you can see how the clear plastic on the tube is toasty. This is the line that runs thru the bike to the left side carb. It rests on the engine as it passes thru and has apparently gotten burnt and melted a bit. I assume this is no good and I should shorten the line so it doesn't touch anything as it passes thru.

Any insights, solutions, suggestions are much appreciated. Thanks everyone!
Cheers,
Morgan

·
Premium Member
1,936 Posts