Honda Twins banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello! I'm a student from Vancouver, BC and I bought a non running 1968 Cl350 for $400 back in January. I bought this so that I have a project I can work on with my dad. My plan for this is to restore to mostly original and get it running by summer so that I can get my license and learn how to ride. I've already stripped down and now I'm working on the engine and painting the frame. The problem with it is that the clutch pushrod is bent and stuck inside. Also I'm looking for the clutch ball retainer and center stand. Thanks! Also how do I rotate the images?

IMG-1584.jpg IMG-1585.jpg IMG-1630.jpg IMG-1632.jpg IMG-1632.jpg IMG-1813.jpg

·
Registered
726 Posts
Welcome to the forum. Have you had it running? It would be best to know that the engine and tranny are good before you go to far.

·
Registered
625 Posts
Oh my. That's a ways away from running but looks like a fun cheap project. Enjoy the grime scraping.

·
Registered
13,085 Posts
Welcome - and I agree with Brent, it would be best to at least find out what the engine's condition is first. Looks like the chain came off and hit the clutch rod and bent it. It doesn't look as bad as some I've seen, you should be able to grab it with a pair of channellock pliers or vise-grips and twist and pull at the same time and it will likely come out okay. As for the pictures, here's some info that will help you understand what is happening

https://www.hondatwins.net/forums/25-website-issues/120382-pictures-post-upside-down.html#post1008568

·
Registered
625 Posts
That bike looks a long ways off from running. No carbs... Electrical probably shot... Oil shot... Clutch rod shot... Points... Etc...
Don't worry about not getting it going, ha

·
Registered
726 Posts
Yeah I should have tried getting the engine running first. Oh well, I'll do that next time.
A little motorcycle 101.