Honda Twins banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello from Portland Oregon! cm400t brat/racer to tracker dreams

Greetings all! What an awesome community, and thank you for the opportunity to participate.

I’m a beginner living in Portland Oregon. 6 months ago I scratched an old itch and took a basic rider training, got my endorsement, and have been riding as much as possible since. I look forward to learning a lot as this is an entirely new endeavor for me. I did not grow up riding or working on bikes, so my contribution as far as knowledge transfer will be limited. I’m hoping I can find other ways to contribute and support. Overall, I’m very enthusiastic about the prospect of learning how to care for my bike, and hopefully turning it into what I envision.

I found a 1980 cm400t on Craigslist for what I believe to be a fair $1500. Abt 74K on the odometer. It had been sitting for over a year without a start. No oil, dead battery. But overall in good looking condition. Got some oil and fuel, jumped the battery, she turned right over. From my rudimentary perspective, it looks like there has been a fair amount of work done — at least in the form of fuel tank, seat, fenders, racing style handlebars, grips/mirrors, and probably a lot of other things I’m overlooking. Everything seems to be operational minus the turn signals. Also, the oil light stays on when you flip on the electrical — even when it’s full. It goes off once turning the headlight on. I also noticed a screw completely stripped on what I think is the exterior of the carburetor?

I think the bike looks (as well as handles) great with the aggressive racing setup. However, around the 20/30 mile mark my back gets pretty tight. It’s just not super comfortable and I’m not racing anything. My dream is to convert this into a more comfortable, tracker style bike I can take on longer trips.

My Install Wishlist:
-Biltwell Tracker Low handlebars (ordered from Revzilla)