Honda Twins banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all. I've been riding for 7 years. Started later in life. I have a 2011 Cleveland Cyclewerks Heist 250 and a 2007 Honda VTX 1300.

I'm looking for my first project bike. I'm very mechanically inclined I think and want to build a cafe bike out of a 1970's CB. I'm looking over CL and found someone selling two 450's, a 1969 & 70. They are both "taken apart". For those who have rebuilt or built bikes, should this deter me in anyway? I'm just concerned that not having the experience of taking the bike apart I will be at a huge disadvantage when trying to put it back together. Will books be enough to get me through a rebuild?

Thoughts please.

Thanks

·
Registered
13,085 Posts
^^^definitely that on both counts, but the first question I would have is the condition of them in general? If they're seemingly in decent condition cosmetically (tank and sidecovers paint) and the frames are still original and not hacked up by the PO, then you doing the hacking (nothing intended there, but it's how it's viewed when a vintage bike gets heavily modified) would permanently eliminate another classic vintage bike from original condition... just a thought. Also, if you have limited experience riding (7 years vs 30 to 50 like many members here) are you sure you'd actually enjoy riding a café styled bike? Have you experienced the feel of something that drastically different than a cruiser? Many people like the idea but then realize, once they ride that style, that it's not for them. Either way, you'll get plenty of help for the mechanical needs to get it back together - lots of experience on DOHC 450s around here

·
Registered
756 Posts