Honda Twins banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
84 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi there,

So glad I found you all, thanks in advance. So, I have a 74' CB360, and attempted to replace the points(BTW- I read the thread Bill posted re:timing). However, when I was adjusting the right point to the "F" mark, the gap drops to .3mm. I know it can safely be .3mm-.4mm, but for some reason the bike won't start...Hope this isn't too scatter-brained, been trying to figure this out for too long as I am a hopeless noob. Look forward to hearing from you.

Dan

·
Premium Member
1,612 Posts
Was the bike running before you changed out the points?

Did you clean the point faces after you gapped them?, sometimes oil and grease will prevent a spark. Did you check for spark by holding a plug to the side of the engine and kicking it over?

Lastly...do you have fuel supply? i.e. fuel in tank, petcock on, no kinks in hose....

·
Registered
608 Posts
hey dpb not .3 at F ,, opening at F to .3 find the high point of the cam set the points at .3mm (.012) for us metricilly challenged types and then line up the F mark and adjust the points backing plate to open the points at F lock it down and proceed from there, it will be close but check with a strobe timing light

·
Registered
84 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Firstly, thanks for the responses.
To Leethal- Yes, yes, yes, and yes.
To Jayel- When I set the gap to .3mm at the highest point(the notch on the outer sleeve?) of the cam, the points don't start to open at "F".

Also, when I push the starter button, most times it sounds like the chain gets bunched up, or something. It takes several light taps of the button to find the "sweet spot". Any ideas?

·
Registered
84 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Ok, so for those of you reading, bear with me I know this is pretty ridiculous. Here is what I'm doing:

1. Find biggest opening on left contact point, set to .350mm (using screws on contact point)