Honda Twins banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
99 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Before I start, I wanted to state that I am very new to bikes but have gotten the bug for older classic bikes. So I just bought a 70 cb350 and today I tried to start it off of a battery charger/starter. I connected the terminals (black to black, red to red and also an additional terminal which I have no idea where it goes). The lights turn on and the bike is in neutral. I push the starter and all I hear is a clicking sound from the part shown in the attached picture. Can you guys help a newbie out and provide me with some guidance?

Thanks!

Attachments

·
Premium Member
667 Posts
Re: Here clicking and not much else

Your charger doesn't have enough amperage to turn over the starter. You will need a battery hooked up to the system with enough amperage. The lights don't take much and that is why they come on with just the charger. The part you hear clicking is the solenoid. Do you have a battery?

·
Registered
71 Posts

Hi kennethshaw
I agree with what Don said. But my question is the kick starter missing? I would not use the electric starter until I had the bike running and starting well.
TomC in Ohio

·
Premium Member
2,386 Posts

dlslick said:
Your charger doesn't have enough amperage to turn over the starter. You will need a battery hooked up to the system with enough amperage. The lights don't take much and that is why they come on with just the charger. The part you hear clicking is the solenoid. Do you have a battery?
You are correct that normal, small, battery chargers will not turn the motor over but by the looks of those clamps he's got one of the larger units that should turn it over.

My suggestion is to hook up some jumper cables from a car battery or one of those emergency jump batter units (I have one and use it all the time on the bikes). If all you still hear is the clicking then check to make sure the cable to the starter is good and has a good connection.

·