Honda Twins banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
127 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm working on the wiring for a cafe project that's mostly a CB350. I'm pretty new to this stuff, but I understand the basics.

I found a CB77 headlight/speedo/tach that looks and works great so I want to use it. I noticed the headlight bucket has a light switch knob on the top and got the idea to use this as an ignition switch (Off/All on). But I'd want an "on" without the headlight running all the time so I figured I could replace the stock switch with a 4 way rotary switch. I'm thinking Off/On/Headlights/High Beam. Is this possible? Can anyone point me in the right direction? I've found a few 4 way switches on ebay that I could fit into the bucket but I really don't know what to look for in terms of functionality.

·
Registered
555 Posts
I do not get it. Ignition switch on includes ignition coil, turn signals & brake light. So, what is 'on' for with the rotary switch? I see headlight and tail light in headlight low position & headlight high and tail light in high beam position. So, rotary switch is off, headlight low & headlight high beam, Three position switch. Or, am I missing something (it is late, I am tired).

As for wiring, no problem. You need a two stack rotary switch with one stack for both low beam & high beam switch positions on switch wired together for tail light. And, other stack on switch selecting either low beam or high beam headlight. You could use a single stack with two diodes coming off of low & high beam headlight position wired to the tail light. The diodes act as a one way switch so you can get voltage in both headlight low or high beam always feeding the tail light, but isolating the low from high beam for the headlight. 3 amp 1N4004 diode works well, about 10 cents each.

·
Registered
127 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 · (Edited)
Thanks for the replies! I know it's a little goofy. You pretty much nailed it.