Honda Twins banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
7,061 Posts
A while ago, while strolling through the town center, a seagull decided to precision drop it's load straight on the top of my head. Can't understand how such a small creature can carry such a a load. A week later, while working outside on the K2, another seagull could claim a partial hit on my back.

When I mentioned this, Nigel and another friend of mine pointed out that seagull droppings means good luck. Didn't feel very lucky those days but lo and behold, soon afterwords this 1976 Harley-Davidson XLCH Sportster landed in my lap for a very reasonable cost. I test rode a friends ironhead Sportster a while back and really liked it's character. I've got very little experience of Harley's but except for the very silent, and in my eyes pretty ugly, exhaust (only for passing MOT) and the seat it looks pretty stock to me.

IMG_1645-1024.jpg

The owner couldn't get it running OK but after carburettor adjustments it's now running really good.

·
Registered
7,061 Posts
Discussion Starter #4 (Edited)
Better make room in your garage then Perry. :D
The exhaust is only for passing registration but I don't like my bikes beeing too loud. At the same time I want to hear that it's a bike I'm on so I'll experiment with the new exhaust system, that will be mounted after registration, to find a sound level I like. Strong enough to sound like a motorcycle but not so strong I disturbs other people or cause fatigue on longer rides.

I know this is a forum for Honda twins so that's why I ask you guys if there's there are any interest in following the work I'll be doing on the Harley?

·
Registered
375 Posts
Wandered over here from your Brutus build, noticed the Sportster on the table, and then saw the link in your signature. I REALLY want one too...am afraid it would be just an around town bike, but I'd want to ride it long distances...how is it when you put some miles on it? Does your body hurt? Cool bike!

·
Registered