Honda Twins banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
83 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

I posted part of this in another thread, but I'm beginning to wonder if two things I'm noticing are related.......I'm new to my CL350 and the world of carbs, so please bear with me.

Since I bought my CL350 a few days ago, I've noticed that there's a lot of pressure whenever I open the gas tank cap. I understand that the tank vents through the cap, correct? Should I be noticing any pressure release when I turn the cap? The tank was lined with Kreem by the previous owner, so I'm wondering if that might have something to do with it (I don't seem to see a vent tube - my first guess was maybe it was blocked somehow). There's nothing obviously wrong with the cap that I can tell either.

Related to this (?), the right side carb overflowed out the drain tube when I left the petcock on. Stuck needle seems to be a likely culprit there (something like that anyway).

Could the two events be connected somehow? I'm figuring that the carbs just need cleaning, but the tank issue has me a bit concerned too.

Thanks!

·
Sensei
27,163 Posts
DO NOT START BIKE UNTIL YOU CHANGE THE OIL AGAIN...(If the oil smells at all of fuel).... IF the vent is clogged (it's in the cap) and the bike is solar heated you may get pressure...if the vent is clogged and some/the fuel drained out, you may be hearing air intake

·
Registered
83 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
66Sprint said:
DO NOT START BIKE UNTIL YOU CHANGE THE OIL AGAIN...(If the oil smells at all of fuel).... IF the vent is clogged (it's in the cap) and the bike is solar heated you may get pressure...if the vent is clogged and some/the fuel drained out, you may be hearing air intake
Yup. I had already drained the oil, so I was ok there. Doesn't seem like anything went into the crankcase (the oil drain pan was still sitting under the open drain plug when the carb overflowed and there's no gas in it).