Honda Twins banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
6,495 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I had a couple of questions regarding the way I spliced in an automotive fuse holder on my 450 project. Also had questions regarding the suitabilty of breakers, both the manual reset and the auto-reset types.

It was all prompted by a short that developed during reassembly (pinched wire) - I went through my supply of metric glass-tube fuses in a real hurry, and it honked me off.

This is a re-hash of a post I made over at the 450 forum (wonder what will happen to that place?).

The good news is that you can get a 15-amp circuit breaker that fits neatly into a regular ATO blade-type holder.
That gives you the option of using a regular blade-type fuse or a circuit breaker, either in the same holder.
So go ahead and splice in the holder, cheap at any auto parts store.

As for the merits of circuit breakers in this application - I'm not an electrical engineer.
I do know that most circuit breakers are subject to the effects of aging and multiple "firing", as they are mechanical devices.
Witness the fact that the breakers in your home will get progressively "weaker" with repeated tripping, causing them to trip out at progressively lower currents.
I've dealt with this plenty of times in my old house - some of my older 20-amp circuits are nearly maxed out, and once a breaker has tripped a number of times (not that many times in some cases), I simply have to replace it - Wifey's hair dryer is a case in point......

I do not believe that automotive breakers are immune from this characteristic. It is possible that the auto-cycling types may even excaberate this process. It may get you home ok, but then you may need to replace the breaker anyway, as it's tripped repeatedly during the process. It may be prudent to carry a spare fuse even if you use a breaker.
The breakers themselves are not awfully expensive ($5-$10 range), the holders only a couple bucks. And of course fuses are cheap.