Honda Twins banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone! I am new to this forum but have been using the Honda VTX forum for several years now. VTX Owners Association

I have been looking for a vintage bike for a while to customize and came across a 1974 Honda CB450 the other day but was wondering if it's a good purchase or not. Here is what I know so far:
(please keep in mind that I am VERY new at working on motorcycles but I have ridden most of my adulthood)

1. It has new Tachs so no telling how many original miles is on it.
2. Has trouble starting (going over there this weekend to ride it if he can get it running.
3. kickstarter is off and they installed an electric starter.
4. 2nd owner, man doesn't know much about bikes and doesn't want to spend the time or money to fix it up.

He is wanting $2,400.00 for it. It is in good condition from what I can see. (see attached pics)

Future plans: If i buy this I am leaning more of a custom rebuild, (paint, handlebars, maybe frame and maybe engine work for more power) Mainly a show bike.

Soooo..... Is this a good buy? I have been seeing these bikes listed for $3,300 and higher on ebay.

IMG_2790.JPG IMG_2791.JPG IMG_2792.JPG

·
Premium Member
2,838 Posts
For an all original, turn key bike that would be the top of the value. For a non running bike, it is too high. JMO.

Reactions: 76TWIN

·
Registered
4,458 Posts
I agree, for a non-running bike that's a bit high of a price tag.

·
Registered
2,614 Posts
Has trouble starting (going over there this weekend to ride it if he can get it running.