Honda Twins banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all!

New to the forum and just started overhauling my first old-timer, the Honda CB125k3 from 1969 or as I call it, my fat Rhonda. I bought it about 4 years ago but was not able to really look at it until now! The bike did ran with a top speed of around 80km/h. I'm completely new in motorcycles, so I hope to receive some tips on my ongoing maintenance. So far I managed to do the following:

1. Clean out the gas tank: removed the petcock, filled the tank with vinegar + salt, currently taking away the rust.
2. Cleaned the carburetors: installed new float on the R carburetor (float was damaged)
2a. I noticed the choke plates are missing/damaged on the carbs. Anything I can do about it?
3. Drained the oil
3a. I have one seized bolt on the oil filter cap. Had a couple of others on the alternator cap which I managed to remove with my impact driver. This one is completely seized. What's the best next step?
4. Camshaft tensioner. cant find the tensioner bolt. Is it possible it is not included on my model? Should be in between the two exhausts?
5. Ignition timing. Still to do
6. Setting the valves. Still to do
7. compression test the cylinders
8. Spark plugs that were still on are completely black. Will clean out and test
9. Battery is dead, to be replaced and to check all the circuits (main light, pinker lights, stop light,...). Any recommendations on the battery? It had a 6V6Ah.
10. Found back rectifier, condenser and ignition coil on the bike. Anyway to test these?
11. After the main repairs will repair the chrome and the paint.

See below a couple of pictures of the bike as it is now, workshop could be cleaner :)

Looking forward for tips and tricks!
Best regards,
Jef

·
Registered
160 Posts
1. Clean out the gas tank: removed the petcock, filled the tank with vinegar + salt, currently taking away the rust.