Honda Twins banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I brought my head to the local machine shop and my guy told me the exhaust valves were bent and I would need to replace them. Otherwise everything was ok with my top end.

Would there be something that would cause this I need to look into further? I know that my cam chain guide was worn, but the chain and everything else looked ok.

thanks

·
Registered
785 Posts
I just can't see it happening, bending two exhaust valves is too far out without a broken cam chain. And even still I think it would be an intake and an exhaust valve, not two exhaust valves.
But, I am not a twin expert, I see DOHC Honda 4 cylinder engines behind my eye lids.

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I have to get more info, that's what he left me in a VM. I took off the cylinder and found the chain roller was pretty beat, I've attached a photo. Do the cam chains have a master link? I can't find one.

Attachments

·
Premium Member
667 Posts
I have seen engines that are run on rotten gas have exhaust valves stick and then get bent. This was on a small engine but I guess it could happen on these twins as well.

·
Registered
70 Posts
Just a thought but could this be caused by a simple case of running the bike too hard? Running past redline, high revs all the time causing valve lash, and the valve train not being able to keep in synch w/ the pistons, then the pistons would contact the valves?

The clearances from piston to vavles are pretty close and don't think it would take much to cause some point of contact.

again, just a thought

·
Registered
6,495 Posts
smbevma said:
I have to get more info, that's what he left me in a VM. I took off the cylinder and found the chain roller was pretty beat, I've attached a photo. Do the cam chains have a master link? I can't find one.
No, no master link.