Honda Twins banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all,

i just bought a CB350. The previous owner didn't strike me as a very mechanically inclined guy, and i'm aftaid he never looked at the battery; it's a 6 cell wet battery, and while cells 1, 3, and 5 are full to the brim, cells 2, 4, and 6 look empty. I'm new to wet batteries, but from what I've read that's the opposite of what they're supposed to be filled to. I've read that the cells should be filled to even levels, just enough to cover the

·
Registered
3,348 Posts
There should be a full level line on the casing somewhere. I'd remove as much as possible from the overfilled cells and add it to the underfilled ones. Use a glass eyedropper if possible. Use proper safety precautions.

Afterward if you need to top off any other cells use distilled water only.

If you have a small led flashlight, those are handy to shine into one side of your battery so that you can easily see the liquid level inside from the opposite side.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
There should be a full level line on the casing somewhere. I'd remove as much as possible from the overfilled cells and add it to the underfilled ones. Use a glass eyedropper if possible. Use proper safety precautions.

Afterward if you need to top off any other cells use distilled water only.

If you have a small led flashlight, those are handy to shine into one side of your battery so that you can easily see the liquid level inside from the opposite side.
Awesome, thank you. I'll be sure to grab a glass eyedropper on my way home from work.

·
Registered
4 Posts
As a general rule bout 10 to 15mm from where the clear battery body meets the black plastic top correlates to the marked max min lines.....a good battery maintainer will give you an indication bout the batterys overall health....e.g to hold charge.....

·
Registered
956 Posts
Why not get a hydrometer for a battery ?