Honda Twins banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, guys,

I have changed all the controls on my cb450k5 and now have a doubt regarding my clutch: I have accidentally pulled on the clutch rod while cleaning it and I feel I can't push it in - I'm an absolute noob and know close to 0 about the bike but can you tell me if it's normal that the rod won't go in? Do I need to open the clutch basket cover to do something else to fix it?

Thank you very much!!

Ricardo

·
Registered
3,537 Posts
If I understand correctly, the push rod will not seat all the way in? The round end of the rod needs to go on the clutch side. There is a plunger it needs to fit into. You may need to jiggle it around to get it to drop it. I would pull it out and check to make sure it isn't crudded up.

Clutch Cross Section 1.jpg

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
If I understand correctly, the push rod will not seat all the way in? The round end of the rod needs to go on the clutch side. There is a plunger it needs to fit into. You may need to jiggle it around to get it to drop it. I would pull it out and check to make sure it isn't crudded up.

View attachment 223850
As always, James, you're of major help!! Thank you very much!!

Need to be honest: I'm not sure if the rod is actually supposed to go in when the thread clutch is pulled (outwards) by the clutch cable - is the rod supposed to go in, push the springs in the clutch basket and get the clutch discs apart from eachother? It doensn't go in. Does it only do it when the engine is running?

View attachment 223858

·
Registered
506 Posts
you definitely have the steel ball in place between the clutch rod and the clutch actuator? #10 in Jim's parts fiche picture.

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
you definitely have the steel ball in place between the clutch rod and the clutch actuator? #10 in Jim's parts fiche picture.
Hey, Liam. Thank you for replying!