Honda Twins banner

1 - 20 of 241 Posts

·
Premium Member
223 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi folks, thought it was time to post some pictures of the project I've been working on (off and on) since winter of 2007. My dad bought this bike from a co-worker in summer of 1987. I think he rode it twice, parked it...and that was that. It sat outside for the next 20-odd years. I'm living in the house where it was stored (in the back yard) and decided I didn't have enough to do on weekends. So far I've torn everything down, powdercoated the frame, and am now starting to get the rust off everything, figure out which components are still working and what's toast...and take it from there. Looks like many of you have been on a similar journey!

UPDATE: here's some more 'before':

Attachments

·
Premium Member
1,612 Posts
:lol: thats awesome! :cool:

·
Registered
53 Posts
I for the life of me can't understand how people can let perfectly good motorcycles sit and rot away. How could one not want to ride a bike that they own? I used to see this all the time when I delivered out in the countryand I always wanted to drag the poor things home and fix them. Once I actually did buy an old Yamaha enduro for $25 and gave it to a friend of mine.
Good on you for taking the inititave on this one! You should preserve that vine and hang it up in the garage or something :cool:

·
Premium Member
223 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·