Honda Twins banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My electrical starter used to work when I first got it, albeit very weak. It eventually got to the point where it just clicked despite having a fully charged fresh battery. I decided to hook it up directly to the battery and it doesn't turn over or anything. I disassembled and cleaned up the brushes and such and still get nothing from it. Is it toast?

·
Registered
Honda CB360 T
2 Posts
My electrical starter used to work when I first got it, albeit very weak. It eventually got to the point where it just clicked despite having a fully charged fresh battery. I decided to hook it up directly to the battery and it doesn't turn over or anything. I disassembled and cleaned up the brushes and such and still get nothing from it. Is it toast?
Hi HughL I'm no expert but I rebuilt mine with a kit I got from Commom Motorcycles, they also have a rebuild video which was really helpful I got it right after watching numerous times ..... good luck

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I got it to turn over for a bit but it was very weak and now its stopped altogether again. Might just replace the brushes and see how it goes.

·
Premium Member
1970 Honda SL175
9 Posts
I have rebuilt a lot of smaller motors like the windshield wiper motor on my '62 Triumph TR4. Don't forget to take a clean pencil eraser to clean all the areas where the brushes touch as it can build up grime or almost a haze over it. Make sure your brushes have a good connection!

·
Registered
CB77, 1966
64 Posts
Hi HughL I'm no expert but I rebuilt mine with a kit I got from Commom Motorcycles, they also have a rebuild video which was really helpful I got it right after watching numerous times ..... good luck