Honda Twins banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi! Seeking advice on what might be causing this click and what a top-end rebuild might entail.

I've been riding my first bike, a 1981 CM400C, for the past 9 months and I'm loving it! It always had a slight "click" to the top-end of the engine, which I read was pretty normal for these engines. It never sounded bad until about month 8. I noticed that the click seemed to getting louder over time, so I stopped riding and did some detective work.

Both pistons had an obvious high clicking sound, but the left piston was much louder. When you get down next to the cam cover on that side it sounds like it's coming from right behind (and maybe a bit above) the exhaust flange. This click follows right along with the RPM of the engine, and does seem to have a bit of "resonance" that happens between 4k-6k RPM, as if something may be loose or something. Up at that speed it sounds pretty freaking bad.

The sound seems to be coming from where the valve tappets would be, so, after a general internet forum + biker buddy consensus, I performed my first (and second) valve adjustment, a cam chain adjustment, and a replacement of both spark plugs. I made all adjustments/gaps to spec from the shop manual, and it really cleaned up the overall sound of the engine. The "bad" left-hand click is still there though, so I'm seeking advice on what my next steps should be.

Another couple things worth mentioning...

The engine fires right up without choke or anything (Texas heat) and it has no problems idling. I don't even think it's suffered a loss of power.

When I first fire up the engine (or at really low idle) the clicking is basically inaudible. I just fooled myself into thinking that it had gone away when I cranked the engine, but after revving the engine and letting it heat up, the clicking became more audible. It seems to get louder/worse at higher RPM.