Honda Twins banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys. I have been working for over two months now trying to get my 74 CL360 running again. It ran when I purchased it, but not for very long. At the time, the bike would kick start only and backfire in the mid to high range of the RPMs. Over the course of a week, it got to the point where it just wouldn't start at all. The plugs were found to be wet with fuel at the time, but I discovered fuel in the oil as well so started with the carbs and let the spark issue lay for a while.

Removing the carbs led to a path of "discoveries" including a dead, wrong shaped battery, a butchered battery box to fit said battery, a totally unplugged rectifier with one lead broken off, a pretty nasty looking flasher relay, and some degree of corrosion on many terminals in the various connectors the bike has. My positive battery cable was also about 18 inches long, and therefore definitely not stock.

So, I dove in an replaced the rectifier with a new reg/rect combo from Oregonmotorcycles, got it wired up, and deleted the old regulator since it would be redundant to keep it. I got a "new" battery box along with with the proper size gel battery, shortened my 18 inch cable to about 2 inches, installed a new flasher relay and replaced many terminals and connectors with new ones. I also ended up replacing a couple of wires all together because the snip, strip and look approach kept yielding green strands of wire. I have been very carefully reviewing the wiring diagram at the back of my Clymer and taking my time to avoid stupid mistakes.