Honda Twins banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First off I apologize if i'm posting in the wrong location or any other slip ups I make (Long time Lurker, first time post..er), as well i'm fairly new to the motorcycle world personally but I have family that has been working on bikes for around 35 years.

I have a 1973 Honda CL350 that ive been rebuilding for the last few months without issue, changed out the Ignition to Electronic, upgraded coils, other basic things. Side Note: This bike has been sitting for around 25 Years without any love.

Last weekend was my first time on her and she ran like a dream for the first half hour, piddled around town, drove down some super long back roads, all that jazz. About 5 minutes before I returned home I noticed that the engine was jumping into the 6k rpm range when I had my clutch pulled in at a stop, but it would correct itself when I got going again. Upon my arrival home, I parked the bike and left it in neutral to see if I could find out what the issue was but then noticed the breather tube from the head of the engine was putting out a decent amount of white smoke. Instinctively that was my queue to shut her off.

I know its not a ton of information and if I can give any more please let me know. Just trying to find out where I should start or what the issue could be. (Attempting to become more self sufficient, not to keen on the idea of breaking down and not knowing how my vehicle works)

·
Registered
297 Posts
Well, all bikes vent some from the breather tube, that's what's there for. Excessive smoke indicates too much blow by. Probably from worn rings. A compression test will tell the tale. The high revs is another issue, often a leaky intake manifold or dry felt seals on throttle shaft.

·
Premium Member
10,203 Posts