Honda Twins banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
HELLO - I've been riding my recently finished CL450K5 for about 4 months now, and I love it !! There is, however, one small but particularly irritating issue which I'd really like to solve.
Pulling away from standstill the clutch is completely smooth until it's about 75% released. The last 25% of movement, however, feels like you've just let go of the clutch lever and the final release happens with a sharp jerk ! I'm planning to strip the clutch out in the next few months, but has anyone had a similar problem and can give me an idea of what I should be looking for ?? Many thanks - Paul

·
Registered
2,837 Posts
Ive noticed that if the timing isn't set close you'll have to give er more gas, and it can be hard to take off smooth. I suppose if the carbs aren't synced or set right it'd have a similar effect.

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Hi Lefty, thanks for your reply - but the timing / carbs are 'sock on' - this is definitely a mechanical issue associated with the clutch mechanism ( I'm guessing sticking plates in the basket / weak springs or other similar ? ) Cheers, Paul

·
Registered
2,514 Posts
Are you certain the cable isn't binding? Cable routing can make for binding issues.

Barring that, have you tried adjusting the free play in the throw-out helix (at the sprocket cover) with the cable disconnected? Setting the helix first puts the lever in a more CW position, making for a more even control with the clutch handle throughout movement of the handle. If the helix lever is held higher in its arc by the cable when the handle is released, it rotates faster when the handle is nearer the grip than when you first begin moving it.

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Hi Rick, it's taken a couple of days to get back due to poor weather here in UK !!