Honda Twins banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm changing the chain because it just looks like crap and I have no idea when the previous owner last swapped it. I'm assuming when the chain is worn (especially if it's really worn) it makes sense to do the sprockets too. My plan is to run a 17:36 instead of 17:34 - my expectation is mostly city (very local) and very little highway.

So, a few questions:
- Seems the D.I.D. 530x100L is the way go - is $44 for a chain a lot? Seem cheap?
- Any reason not to go with Outlaw Racing sprockets?
- Does my rationale - running a 36t in the back - make sense? Is it advisable for my use?
- Anything else I should swap while the wheel's off? I may take the wheels to an actual pro and have the brakes (rear) and wheel bearings inspected... just for peace of mind.

Side note: This is my first motorcycle (really don't even have a license or helmet yet), but I've been riding bikes (the ones with pedals) for 45 years and there's a surprising amount of overlap - gear ratios, truing wheels, rebuilding forks, dealing with dumb#*@& drivers...

Thanks!

·
Registered
2,558 Posts
Just FYI, the original sprockets were 15 and 35, for a final ratio of 2.33. Sizes of 17 and 36 are close to that, at 2.12. Your rpm will be lower than stock by about 9%, with a corresponding loss of acceleration. Also, stay away from any O-ring or X-ring type chain, as it is likely to strike the clutch lifter arm.

·
Registered
74 Posts
Sounds to me like you should return to the original 15 - 35 ratio to get the performance change that you are looking for.

D.I.D. chain is fine and so are Outlaw sprockets.