Honda Twins banner

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
505 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I think my chain needs a good cleaning and lubrication. I've never done it before. I've read on the manual to use kerosene to clean the chain and SAE 80 or 90 gear oil to lube it afterwards. I watched the video on Revzilla showing how to do it too... doesn't seem complicated, but it looks like it could get messy, plus I have neither kerosene or that type of oil on hand, so I'm thinking about having it done in a shop nearby. Surely cleaning and lubricating a chain doesn't run past $40, does it? Probably includes adjusting too? Do you guys do it yourselves?

·
Registered
4,458 Posts
No need for kerosene. I use WD-40 for this. Just spray on let it soak for a bit then scrub with a stiff brush to clean the chain. Then I use a chain lube which can be bought at any bike shops (even NAPA auto parts store)
Why pay a shop to do this?

If you want to keep the mess to a minimum just take the chain off and lay it on some card boards.

·
Registered
505 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I thought a stiff brush was a no-no with an o-ring chain?

·
Registered
459 Posts
This year I started to use PJ1 Blue Label for my chain lube. I usually just put the bike on the center stand and spray it down with WD-40 (or any not-too-harsh solvent [don't want to damage the o-rings]) while rotating the chain. Next I wipe it down with a clean rag before applying the PJ1.

As 76TWIN said any decent quality chain lube will suffice. The only benefit I have noticed with the PJ1 is a little less flinging, which is important when you're not using a chain guard. Also I don't think a stiff nylon brush will harm the o-rings. Obviously don't rub metal against rubber bits.

EDIT: Spelling.

·
Registered
2,837 Posts
I just put it on the center stand and spin the tire while spraying continuously into the chains joints. Do it often enough that it doesn't go dry.

·
Registered
3,257 Posts