Honda Twins banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Guys

I'm a newbie to the forum but I've had my CD200 Benly for about a year. I bought it as a freshly restored bike, not concours by any means but attractive and usable.

Last week I was coming home, turned right into my road and the engine died. No coughs, splutters or pops. Blip the throttle to change down a couple of gears, turn, squeeze on a touch of throttle and nothing! Fortunately I was 100 yards from home, and it was gently downhill so I rolled the last bit. Yesterday I finally got round to investigating, starting on the fuel side. No apparent problems there: the float chamber is full, there's no dirt in it, I blew through the jets and the choke works (not that that would have cut-out a warm engine).

So move on to the sparkly bit. First charge the battery because I know that's a bit flaky, though it's never been a real problem and I always kick-start it anyway. Take out one plug, close the garage door, kick it over: no spark. Double check to make sure the plug is earthing well and spin it on the starter. Still no spark. Plug gaps look a bit big so reduce them to 25 thou with my calibrated thumbnail. Still no spark. Points? Condenser? Take off the the cover and it's electronic! This is where I grind to a halt. How do I fault-find that? No idea. Try Google. No specific help found, but I did discover HondaTwins.net so there's a success.

So now I must throw myself on the mercy of the wise men (persons) of this forum and hope someone can guide me. Be gentle please.

·
Super Moderator
5,926 Posts
First things first...Is there a kill switch? you may of bumped it....don;t ask me how I know about those things...lol
Is there a fuse(s)? Check them.

Connections, Start at battery....make sure it is tight.