Honda Twins banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
261 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey Gurus,

I am starting to think about custom wiring my CB500T build, however, I have never done it before and I am wondering how big of a sh*tshow I would be getting myself into if I try it ... as part of this "ambition" I am also thinking about running the wire inside the frame (you know ... to make it harder on myself!)

I am wondering who may have done this ... not necessarily on the CB500 but just in general and if you could comment of the level of expertise needed to pull this off. I realize that there are some decisions that I would need to be made in advance like;

• 12 volt or lithium?
  • starter motor or not?
  • what gauges / lighting do i want to run?
  • electronic ignition or points? (likely electronic)
  • other ???

Also ... where and how do I drill the frame to accommodate wiring without compromising the integrity of the frame?

If anyone has some advise and/or wiring diagrams to offer up I would sure appreciate it!

Thanks Bill

·
Registered
4,458 Posts
My thoughts.

1. Custom wiring. Possible to do yourself but it would mean spending A LOT of time rewiring everything and basically rebuilding the entire wire loom.
Why reinvent the wheel? Is it not working now?

Also keep in mind that by customizing your wiring, you no longer will be able to use the wiring diagrams for the bike when the needs arise.
Basically if you have a short somewhere, no one will be able to help you out because no one will know what was done on the wiring.

2. Running the wiring inside the frame. Nope, this sounds like a really really bad idea to me.
Not only are you over complicating things for yourself but you are risking potentially weakening the frame - re safety issue here. Also imagine trying to troubleshoot a short with the wiring inside the frame. Why???