Honda Twins banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am helping a friend put together his CB500T. I'm new to this motor and he has limited mechanical knowledge. The head is on the bike, cams in, cam chain riveted, tensioner off. The problem is the cam chain isn't on the crankshaft gear. With the head on and the cams in, I tried to catch the crankshaft gear with the cam chain. I wasn't having much luck. A friend/mechanic recommended I go ahead and put the master link in and that the chain could be rolled onto the gear with the tensioner out. I've tried and tried to roll the chain on. It will snag the chain, but slips off. Does anybody have any suggestions? Do I have to break the chain, remove the head, and lift the jugs? Or is it possible to go in from the side by removing the flywheel? Or is there a technique to rolling the chain on the gear that I am not aware of? Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
4,458 Posts
How the heck did the cam chain come off the crankshaft in the first place?
As to how to put it back on the crank shaft, you're going to have the break the chain, remove the head, and realign the chain onto the crankshaft's gear.

Get one of these to break the cam chain
Honda Chain Breaker / Chain Press Tool CB350 / CB360 / CB450 / CB500 / CB550 | Common Motor Collective

Make sure you tie the ends of the cam chain to something so the chain doesn't drop out into the crank case.

And you'll need a master link to put the chain all back together

If it's a DID 219 chain (OEM) use this
Genuine Honda - D.I.D Cam Chain Master Link - 219T - Rivet Type - CA/CB/CL72/77 CB/CL/350K/450K SL350K CB500K/550/750

If it's a 219H chain use this
https://www.dimecitycycles.com/vint...universal-219h-chain-master-link-12-1217.html

·
Registered
13,085 Posts