Honda Twins banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
208 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, im a newbie here, and have a 73 Cb450 K5. the 2nd gear in the transmission is worn and needs to be replaced. I have a replacement gear and am ready to start the tear down.
1. Is there any words of caution i should know?
2. Any tools and/or procedures?
any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks -Dan

·
Registered
3,926 Posts
Welcome aboard Dan! We're glad to have another 450 owner anytime.. ;)

More knowledgable folks will check in here soon..

GB :mrgreen:

·
Registered
146 Posts
I would suggest doing a compression test before you rip into your motor. Anything lower than 150 psi indicates some top end work will be required. You'd hate to tear down, rebuild and then discover yer burning oil or lacking power.

As noted others' (more knowledgeable than myself) are sure to help out along the way! Welcome.

·
Registered
6,495 Posts
Get the "opposing" gear (the gear next to it that engages that one) too.
If you're doing it because it jumps out of 2'nd, there were two gears and a shift fork involved with that fix.

You'll need an oil filter bolt tool, available at MotionPro for less than $10.
Might as well get the alternator puller too, same place, also less than $10.
You'll find links here to both those tools, just do a Search.

Get a seal kit too, and the advice to check your compression first is sound - do it all at once.

·
Registered
208 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I appreciate the welcomes guys. Yeah the bike jumps out of 2nd gear. It can be kinda challenging to go from 1st to 3rd while pulling onto the highway - gotta have quick feet hahah. The bike has around 8k on the odometer. so the top end should be rebuilt. unfortunately i cant afford it at the moment, (going back to school in a week)
But the top end will be rebuilt probably next summer. Thanks for the info guys.
Cheers -Dan

Attachments

·
Registered
3,926 Posts