Honda Twins banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My motorcycle will start and idle with ease, but as soon as I give it a little throttle, the engine bogs down (stumbles/misses, not sure of the correct terminology). Most of the time, I can ease it through the bog until I get to higher RPMs (2000+) and it seems to run fine. However, sometimes, the engine will stall during that initial throttle. What is this indicative of? Mechanical wise, everything is stock (air filters, exhaust, etc.) I'm a newbie and not sure where to start looking. Is this an air leak around the carb intake boots? Is this due to dirty carbs? Please point me in the right direction. Thanks!!!!

·
Sensei
27,180 Posts
I'd suspect the carbs first, but the timing advance mechanism could be "sticking" at lower revs.....or the springs could be allowing full advance too soon, and it doesn't perform until the engine speed "catches-up"....

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I attempted to work on the bike today, but the screws on the hose clamps are stripped. My only transportation right now is my bicycle, so I made the trip to the hardware store to get new hose clamps so I can remove the carbs and actually be able to reinstall them tomorrow. I did however ride the motorcycle a little and a new symptom appeared. It backfired on me a couple of times, and it appears that I have gasoline coming out of the intake on the carbs. The air filters had a little on them and it's also emitting white smoke from the right carb intake. I'm going to inspect the carbs tomorrow morning. Anything in particular I should be looking for?? Thank you in advance!!

·
Sensei
27,180 Posts
" I have gasoline coming out of the intake on the carbs. "

Do you mean the air intake, or the hose barb where the carb intakes the fuel ?

Sounds like you're flooding, which could also explain the initial "bogging"....Clean carbs and reset float heights....

·
Registered
31 Posts