Honda Twins banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm rebuilding a '72 K5 CB450. After putting everything back together all of the electric worked fine and bike started, then, suddenly...bike died and starter button did nothing. The horn also was totally dead. Headlight, turn signals, brake lights, etc. all work fine. Blinking indicator light and backlight for the speedo/tach also work fine, but the neutral light does not.

Came back to the bike the next day and, magically, everything worked fine. Bike started and ran. Skip to last night and same thing happened, bike started then, magically, died and horn/starter switch/neutral light all gone, everything else works fine.

Some research shows these are all on the same circuit and if something goes out it would kill all of them...but where do I start in diagnosing and solving this? I have no electrical knowledge so, while I have a feeling it's either the ground or a bad neutral switch...I don't really know how to prove that or what to do about it. I have the schematic and traced most of the connections and, visually, they all look fine.

I'm 99.9% done with a year long build, and this is the final piece (hopefully), so any help would be SO appreciated.

·
Premium Member
10,203 Posts
Disconnect the neutral switch and connect the wire to ground. If that causes the neutral light to illuminate likely your switch is sticking That would explain the light and the starter, don't know about the horn though.

·
Registered
2,563 Posts
The horn and starter button depend on the ground wire from the bars to the fork top bridge, since the bars are mounted in rubber. There should be a green wire with a large round terminal on it, that bolts to the bridge. You will sometimes get a good enough ground without that wire, but it would vary.