Honda Twins banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi all, this is my first post. I've started to strip my engine after a nasty sounding breakdown took it off the road. My CB400T has a CB400N engine. This is my first time stripping an engine and I'm planning on doing a full break down and clean. so will likely be posting questions often.

I'm following the Haynes manual for the CB400N. I've got as far at removing the cylinder block and pistons. It looks like the RH Piston was knocking against the cylinder head as there are some impact marks on both and the RH connecting rod has a lot of slop on the crack shaft. It also has some crazy looking thin metal flakes coming on one side of the connecting rod. I noticed that there are no cross hatching on the bore (see photos). And finally I've been and idiot and managed to get the cam chain trapped. I guess I'm asking for some good advise, will the RH piston need replacing? will the cylinder head be warped out of shape due to the impacts? Are there so-posed to be cross hatchings on the bore, will it need re honing? and what is the best way to get that cam chain out.

IMG_2569.jpg IMG_2567.jpg IMG_2564.jpg IMG_2563.jpg IMG_2562.jpg

James

Attachments

·
Registered
13,085 Posts
Welcome - you should post an introduction in the appropriate area to get the 400 crowd familiarized with you and your bike. One of them will be along with a proper FSM (factory shop manual)

·
Registered
13,085 Posts
Thank you. Okay, is that Just the general member introduction thread or is there one specific for 400s?
General member introduction. BTW, you'll be able to create a signature after 10 posts... done that way to reduce spammers. Sorry to see the engine issues... I'm not versed in the 400 series engine, but there are many here who are and you'll get all the help and good advice you'll need

·
Premium Member
10,203 Posts
The cross hatch is normally gone on a used engine.