Honda Twins banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
70 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First off, I'll start with the disclaimer that I'm a noob to all this bike work stuff...I apologize if a similar question has been asked previously. I didn't see it turn up in my searches.

I'm working on a 78 CB400.

Here's where I'm at, and I'll probably take it in to a shop because I don't know if I have the patience / skill to get in to too much more.

I recently cleaned and rebuilt the carbs (new o-rings, floats, float needles, etc.) b/c they were leaking from the overflow tube. I finally got all that worked out and have managed to get them to stop leaking (thanks Bill for the carb assembly). I got it all back together, and she started right up with no hesitation, and idled nicely.

I took her out for a quick spin and there was very very poor acceleration. No matter how much I opened the throttle, the acceleration was poor, and little power. But at higher RPM (like above 6K) she took off and responded as I would expect with plenty of acceleration and as much power as I might expect out of a 400.