Honda Twins banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello from Atlanta! Just bought another one. 1974 CB360. Just about everything needs attention, but rather than a restore, I am going to slightly alter appearance in cafe style. Maybe a blackout motif.

Title should get done this week. Then a tank purge, starter wiring, and test firing. More to follow. Glad to be on Honda Twins.

DSC_0279.jpg
DSC_0297.jpg DSC_0294.jpg DSC_0283.jpg DSC_0283.jpg DSC_0281.jpg

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Since I am a recently added new member, I thought I might add that I have been riding, rebuilding, and fixing motorcycles for over 40 years. I am an engineer with a long time career in aircraft reliability work. So I have a real affinity for the work performed by other members in their pursuit of maintaining these fine old motorcycles. It is a pleasure to see the pride and expertise exhibited by other owners on this site.

One of the tasks I learned how to perform awhile back was to refurbish grody metal parts. I use a Roloc bristle pad on a 90-degree angle grinder for these tasks. By applying this tool to corroded metal, I am able to remove decades of neglect from MC parts.

The attached picture is a Before & After of the header pipes from my '74 CB360. I assure you that both headers looked the same before the initial polish. Fun, fun!

View attachment 274334

·
Registered
493 Posts
Welcome from Georgia, that attachment didn't work for me.

But sure would like to learn a little more about polishing these metals.

·
Registered
13,085 Posts
Significantly better, to say the least - now you should get them ceramic coated, it will help cover the rough spots remaining

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 · (Edited)
New update: Right Hand Switch Problems

I have some issues and I want to know if someone else here has solved this one before...look at the two pictures below.

IMG_6512.jpg IMG_6514.jpg