Honda Twins banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello! I'm new to the Twin forums, but I'm very happy to be a part of the community. let me start by saying that i purchased a CB360 two weeks ago by a guy in louisville kentucky. I reside in Lexington kentucky now, and am a university of kentucky student. When purchasing the bike, it had no leaks, issues, or anything, with the exception of a weak charging system. the bike has been converted to a cafe racer, and in the process went for a 3.3 A/H battery. it has a H4 bulb and after 15 ,inutes of test riding the bikes light began fading and the bike was hesitating. (battery was dying) turned lights off and worked fine. previous owner said i wasnt keeping it up in the revvs, my bet is the bikes got a bad stator, or just not a good enough one. (ive heard this is a common issue on these bikes) anyhow. after driving it home from frankfort kentucky, i noticed the bike was leaking oil, and landing on the shorty exhaust. (smoking/smelled like burning oil) sure enough, i pulled off and noticed that oil was seeping through the stator housing, onto the headers. not only that, i noticed some other oil leaks that were not there during the time of the test drive. the crank case gasket on right foot side is leaking at the bottom by the brake lever, and it also appears that the bike is leaking oil somewhere near the shifter lever on left foot side. lastly, i noticed a bolt had come lose on the valve cover, and oil was leaking there as well. it also looks like oil may be leaking from spark plug area?? seems odd, but this could be from that valve cover head on the left side leaking its way down.

will post pictures as well.