Honda Twins banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm rebuilding a cb360 motor and I have installed new pistons, rings, and cam chain tensioner. But no matter how I put the chain on the sprocket and have the motor at TDC the lines on the cam sprocket are not parallel with the head surface. Please help. I have no idea what has been done to the motor before me but it had ART brand pistons in it

·
Registered
92 Posts
I just went through hours of trying to get them perfect on my cb200. It was extremely tedious and couldn’t line them up. I then read that unless you replace the cam chain, it won’t be perfect because it stretches over time.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks that makes sense. So is it better to have the line below on the carb or exhaust side of the motor. I'm sure as it stretches it will get closer or further out of time? I'm new to the 4 stroke motor, I just want make sure it's right. Thanks again

·
Premium Member
1,638 Posts
Are we talking 100% perfectly parallel? Even with a new cam chain, my cam sprocket lines were a degree or two off parallel. I remember asking 66Sprint about this years ago and he said it is good enough.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Yes it's 1 or 2 deg off. If you say it's good , I will too. That's the answer I was looking for. Just one more thing. The cam could be 180 deg off, by the service manual picture it looks like the cam lobes on the mag side need to be in the down position. Is that correct. Thanks

·
Registered
92 Posts
Yes it's 1 or 2 deg off. If you say it's good , I will too. That's the answer I was looking for. Just one more thing. The cam could be 180 deg off, by the service manual picture it looks like the cam lobes on the mag side need to be in the down position. Is that correct. Thanks