Honda Twins banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
64 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm pretty new to these old bikes so before I dig I wanted to ask about it and hopefully somebody will have some suggestions.

The choke doesn't seem to do anything when starting the bike, when the bike warms up it idles like the choke is on when it's not and you can turn the choke on/off freely without any change to idle when the bike is warm.
I assume the choke is stuck on inside and the lever isn't working but like I mentioned before I'm pretty new.
The spark plug on the right is colored perfectly and the one on the right is black.

What's the 1st-2nd-3rd things you would check?

Thanks.

·
Registered
6,495 Posts
stocker350 said:
I'm pretty new to these old bikes so before I dig I wanted to ask about it and hopefully somebody will have some suggestions.

The choke doesn't seem to do anything when starting the bike, when the bike warms up it idles like the choke is on when it's not and you can turn the choke on/off freely without any change to idle when the bike is warm.
I assume the choke is stuck on inside and the lever isn't working but like I mentioned before I'm pretty new.
The spark plug on the right is colored perfectly and the one on the right is black.

What's the 1st-2nd-3rd things you would check?

Thanks.
Check to see that the mechanical linkage between the two carb chokes is actually hooked up and functioning.
Pull the air filters off and you'll be able to actually see the choke plates in the mouths of the carbs.....

·
Registered
64 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Yes, the exterior linkage seems to be hooked up and functioning properly. Something I noticed last night while we were out riding is that the idle will change ocasionally when we are stopped.

·
Premium Member
5,610 Posts
Have you checked to ensure the right side is actually firing. Are both header pipes header hot?

I'd check the following:

- valve clearances
- compression