Honda Twins banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello Everyone, newbie here who picked up a CB350 a few months back for my wife. When I bought it everything was working mechanically...it had some electrical gremlins I needed to work out. One of which was a neutral switch. I popped open the cover and realized the cam wasn't seated in the slot and boy was it caked in grime. Took care of that and figured while in there, lets go ahead and adjust the clutch by the method listed in the sticky. When I button everything back up and attempted a quick ride, I couldn't get it to shift. I will say the last time it was running I thought there was some new noises, plus see how nasty my oil filter is...looks like something got chewed up.

Decided to investigate further: pulled right hand cover, oil filter, clutch, etc. So thing is I can shift through all gear when using the screw in the end of shift drum, however, when I use the actual shifter on left hand side, nothing happens (up or down). I have pulled the detent ball up top - everything looked ok, removed the shifter stop - still no go with it removed, put a straightedge to the gearshift spindle - didn't appear to be too bent or out of square.

What I have noticed: the teeth on the shift mechanism won't fully get to the next pin on the shift drum...hard to explain, see pictures attached. I don't feel like shifter travel is "full range" and thus not reaching the next pin.

I had run across another thread where a bearing locating pin was smashed through the case and caused some sort of binding. Looking at my pictures, do my bearing caps look positioned correctly? Also, there is a buldge in my case, is this a normal void for the pin or is it starting to push through?

Appreciate any info!

Attachments

·
Registered
2,510 Posts
That bottom pic... Countershaft pushing through the case?

Have you set the cam chain tension yet?

Hopefully someone else will chime in and be more helpful

·