Honda Twins banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
A while ago, I rebuilt my engine, and after putting everything back together, and getting all my controls adjusted, I started riding it regularly. Soon after the rebuild, I began encountering a problem where when I would press the rear brake pedal while riding, I would hear a "clunk", and the brake pedal would suddenly get tight. At first this happened only occasionally, but now it happens whenever I hit the brake pedal. The clunking is getting louder, and the brake pedal is getting tighter.

I feel like what might be happening is the trailing arm is loose, but after looking at it, I saw that all the bolts were safety-wired in place.

Any idea what is causing this?

Thanks

·
Sensei
27,149 Posts
Don't ride again until you check for de-laminated brake shoe friction material......

Reactions: jd50i

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I've never taken my brakes apart, could you give me a link to the proper procedure? Or do I just follow the Shop Manual disassembly instructions?

·
Premium Member
2,838 Posts
As long as you follow a factory service manual and not a clymer.

It is not too difficult, generically speaking;;
disconnect brake rod
Remove axle nut
loosen wheel adjustors
remove chain
remove axle
remove wheel

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
No specialty tools required?

I've got metric sockets, wrenches, and hex keys, as well as screwdrivers. The shop manual mentions a bearing puller, which I don't have.

·
Premium Member
153 Posts
I had that same clunking sound on my `69 CL350 and found out I was missing a 70mm washer or spacer (PN 41202286000) seen in the diagram below. I've just recently got everything back together after new spokes, brakes, and a paint job on the hubs so I'm not sure if adding that spacer will get rid of the clunk but I'm hoping so. You might see if you're missing it as well.

spacer.jpg

·
Premium Member
2,838 Posts