Honda Twins banner

1 - 20 of 164 Posts

·
Registered
804 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey all, started working on the cb160 I got back when I thought I could repair anything in about a week. Boy was I wrong, funny how youthful confidence works.

Anyway, the bike is a complete basket case, I think every single component needs attention other than the gearbox I believe and head bearings (looking on the bright side). If you need cb160 parts you may want to follow this thread in case I find terrible things in the bottom end. I'm very new to repair so I'm mainly treating it as a learning experience since I've already got the thing, might as well try and see where it gets to. I'll also get an idea of what an engine rebuild is like in case I have the desire to do another one at some point.

Here's a picture of when I first got it, most of the big bits are there. The tank is the wrong colour but came with both metal side bits and one of the rubber bits. I also have a full slightly dented set of exhausts.
CB160.jpg

Engine is siezed so I've got PB blaster in the cylinders and have been doing the rock the bike back and forth in high gear routine and no luck. Took the carbs off and looked in through the carb intakes and the verdict is that it looks nasty enough to make me think taking the engine out of the frame and attempting alternate methods will be quicker and more successful.

One of the carb cables snapped while loosening the adjuster, so I've got a slide siezed in one carb and working on extracting that but at least the bowl finally came off, the drain screw is still stuck though (goes out 2 turns now and stops dead).

Picture of carbs off:
IMG_6731.jpg

Bowl that was stuck on immediately after removal:
IMG_6735.jpg
The corresponding float/rest of carb:
IMG_6737.jpg

Other bowl that has been cleaned and mostly metal rescued
IMG_6736.jpg
Still need to find something to drive out the float pins.