Honda Twins banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well, here it goes!
I have been itching for an old CB for quite a few years now. Always liked the look, and really like the old machinery that I can tinker on without having to worry about not putting the 1's and 0's in the right order...
For the past few years, I had been stalking what I think is a 72 CB which was in great shape but buddy had it in his yard and refuse to sell. Well, after sitting outside for 6 years, he finally emails and asks if I'm still interested. As he is asking a lot for a bike that is now in rough shape, I declined. While trying to find the end of the internet a week later, I stumble on a 75 500T which looks like it's in good shape for a very reasonable price. It's now sitting in my basement, naked as a Jaybird.
All of the chrome is good, although the back fender and tailight are a bit crooked from someone backing it into a wall, tank is pretty dented and ratty looking, wheels and hubs were painted black, and the front brake seized. Lots of other little things found on disassembly but nothing crazy so far. The bike is complete except for the toolkit, toolbox and the sidecover sticker for one side.
I have already received my first order of parts and will now start the rebuild. My goal is a resurrection, not a restoration and I want the bike as original as possible, but clean and mechanically sound. A little touch up paint where required to keep it from rusting but otherwise, looking her years.
I'm not sure of how it will pan out time-wise, but I think it will be a fun project and I look forward to your comments and suggestions!

Jeff
Halifax, NS
75 CB 500T aka Beppa
05 Ural aka Gertie
08 CRF 230 aka Therese
88 GSX 600F aka Bertha

·
Registered
4,458 Posts
Welcome. And pics of the bike please.
Nice to see another 500T

·
Premium Member
2,074 Posts
Welcome aboard!
Did it come with papers?

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·