Honda Twins banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all, after closing around the forum for some time i finally decided to join... I bought my cm400a from a guy for $400... he had previously just had it sitting for about three years and wouldn't start...I kno it probably wasn't the best financial decision but I really feel in love with this bike. Plus I'm a beginner s.o i kno it's a good bike to start on and i figured i can learn as i go...so far I've replaced the battery, throttles cables(push cable was completely frayed, but decided to order and change both), ordered new shocks, oil filter kit, ignition switch... the biggest issue in having is finding a carb kit specially for my year or any interchangeable parts from other bikes...I've been able to get it to start but it won't idle, so I assume it could be a carb issue... I've pulled the carbs to inspect and clean and by general first look they don't look too bad, BUT haven't pulled any jets or other parts out yet because I'd be lying if I said I wasn't nervous about getting everything back to proper adjustments...

Attachments

·
Registered
805 Posts
Not the worst ever but it would be a good idea to make sure they're clear while you've got them off. You do have two carbs that should be very similar other than the accelerator pump (note where all the o-rings/rubber bits go). Disassemble/reassemble one at a time and you shouldn't have too much trouble. Also take pictures at every disassembly step and try not to do it over multiple sessions to minimize the chance of forgetting how things go back together.

The adjustments are probably already not perfect and it's easy to get them fairly close. One other thing to make sure you have is compression, but that can wait until the carbs are cleaned and back in

·
Premium Member
10,203 Posts

·
Premium Member
24,208 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts