Honda Twins banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,638 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all,

I am lacking expertise in the use of bolt extractors, in that I have never used one before or shopped for one :oops: . Any brands from major retailers that you would recommend specifically for this type of use?

Next up: How exactly do you use it? I gather that you drill a pilot hole (very small diameter drill bit) in the center of the head and use the proper extractor to yank the f**ker out. The thing is, I am not looking to remove the engine from the frame, so can all this be accomplished?

Thanks in advance!
Mark

·
Registered
3,926 Posts
What bolt is broken? If it's just a rounded head then I'll send you something to get it out. Or you can cut a slot in it and use an impact driver with a flatblade.

Posting a picture in this situation would help greatly.

GB :mrgreen:

·
Premium Member
1,638 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Its the screws on my engine casing, specifically the left and right crankcase covers which I tried to remove for polishing. I tried using a screwdriver to take them out after some liberal addition of liquid wrench, but they would not budge. Now the "phillips heads" look like diamonds now.

Took some pics, but camera did not like to take close up pics and they all came out blurry.
Best I could do:

·
Sensei
27,183 Posts
OK...Lets do it old school.... You will need a #3 phillips driver, an 8mm bolt about 6 inches long, and a hammer.....
Place the threaded end of the bolt on the screwhwad you want to remove...
Hit the bolt on the hex head several good whacks with the hammer (until the "dome" of the screw head "flattens a bit and partially closes the "maltese cross" back towards being a Phillips "cross' again)... Then tap the phillips screwdriver in with the hammer WHILE twisting it counterclockwise... The phillips head screw should "break free" and unscrew... Steve
If this fails (it usually works) there is one more "cheat" to try....

·