Honda Twins banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
1966 Honda CB450 just getting it back together. Ran for the first time in 40+years. The front and rear rims are very rusty and I would like to find a better set. We are replacing all parts with NOS or used items so I am asking what year wheels are the same and will fit? thank you Jim

·
Registered
2,549 Posts
40 hole rims,front and back, most of the other twins are 36 spokes. Honda fours use 40 spoke wheels, the front ones are 19 inches, rear 18 inches. It might be possible to lace up a rear one on the front of the bomber(if the width is ok).

·
Registered
2,045 Posts
I'm no expert on that bike, but the majority of the sohc four cylinder Hondas also used 40 spoke rims. Perhaps that will help offer you some width choices while sourcing period correct rims to lace to your existing hubs.

Well, at least for the rear wheel.

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
The stock wheel are listed at 18 inches in the parts book-and the ones on the bike are 18. Because I want use only NOS or used parts I would need to find 18 inches wheels from a Honda that would fit? Any ideas-thanks Jim

·
Registered
513 Posts
The front wheel on the CB450K1 (68-69) will fit the Bomber. Good used front wheels are hard to find these days.

·
Registered
2,045 Posts
The stock wheel are listed at 18 inches in the parts book-and the ones on the bike are 18. Because I want use only NOS or used parts I would need to find 18 inches wheels from a Honda that would fit? Any ideas-thanks Jim
Would a pair of 18" early CB750 rear wheels fit the bill?
Probably too wide for the front.

From Ebay:

s-l400.jpg

·
Registered
2,045 Posts

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
Red Dragon??