Honda Twins banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi I am new to cb200's having bought a non running bike. Just starting to look through things I realize they have 18mm carbs and approximately 25mm ports. Is anyone here experienced in fitting bigger carbs and interested in passing on their experience?

·
Registered
2,660 Posts
Just out of interest, what figure is cast into your existing carb tops ?

If it's 18, and not 20, I'll keep quiet. :-?

In the small print:

cb200 carbs.JPG

·
Registered
2,660 Posts
Devils advocate time. Some engines are deliberately strangled by the maker fitting carbs that are too small. The CB200 does not fall into that category, IMHO. Same size inlet ports as the 175.

( I originally had a 110cc engine in my Lifan monkey bike. Swapping the tiny original carb and manifold for a Mikuni VM26 perked it up no end. inlet port opened up to match the bigger carb and manifold, otherwise stock internally)

DSCN5278.JPG before.JPG

mikuni2.jpg after.JPG

·
Super Moderator
9,752 Posts
Can't disagree Richard, but other than the 5 hp CB100 and maybe an S90 or some other small bike back then (when a longer carb slide was the limiting factor, never going WOT), I don't think Honda has ever done what you mentioned about the Lifan engine/carb

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Just out of interest, what figure is cast into your existing carb tops ?

If it's 18, and not 20, I'll keep quiet. :-?

In the small print:

View attachment 295966
Carb tops say 20. somewhere i read that the greatness of america is the right to protest for rights, i mean that tops with 20 mean 18mm carbs. also i read 200's have 18mm carbs. that add you post says 20's which i haven't seen elsewhere.I am still new to this honda twin thing. usually work on ols british bikes.

·
Super Moderator
9,752 Posts
usually work on ols british bikes.